Posted by: newenglandsup | September 9, 2009

Building an Alaia

OK…this is still a secret until Friday…nobody blow it for me. This is a gift for my bud Mike…one of the best friends a guy could ask for. I wanted to have this done for the CCBC but best laid plans and all….didn’t happen…primarily because I had a major screw up that required a restart. But all is good now if I do say so myself.

This is the 1st I’ve built, poplar and pine, 7′-6″, 17″ tapering to 16″, 3/4″ thick. The pieces are doweled together with dowels spaced at 4″ on center…overkill I think….but the boards will break before the joints do.

A little pyrography on the deck, both as artwork and to provide grip. Most of it with a Hawaiian tattoo influence.
Photobucket

Compass rose
Photobucket

Manta
Photobucket

Shark
Photobucket

Turtle
Photobucket

The graphic on either side of the shark is a breaking wave.
Photobucket

Initialed and dated
Photobucket

Hope it surfs well…:)
Photobucket

This is with just two coats of oil on her. 4 more to go and a buffing. I had fun building this and am going to start another shortly.

Much thanks to Tom Wegener for sharing his stoke and wisdom.
http://www.tomwegenersurfboards.com/

Responses

  1. Dad The Burning Looks Amazing!!

  2. Hey Bob , you have done a great job and I am sure you friend will be pretty stoked with this. Thanks for sharing. I will post this for sure.

  3. Bob, just fantastic. I’m blown away by the craftsmanship as well as the artistry. Nice work and what an amazing gesture on your part.

  4. Wow Bob thats tooks great!

  5. Thanks all, it was a lot of fun to do and really just a small gesture for such a great friend.


Leave a Reply

Categories

