Posted by: newenglandsup | February 15, 2009

Surprise Surf Session..making a new friend

After lots of talking and attempts to hook up previously that all died because of one thing or another that I had in the way my new bud Craig and I finally hooked up for a session at Plymouth beach. A surprise session at that….I figured we would just be going out for a flat water paddle. All the forecasts were flat…the buoys didn’t show much, even the cam at nantasket was pretty flat or actually just chop.

We decided to meet at the beach anyway instead of the harbor just to get a little more challenging paddle in. We were pleasantly surprised when we pulled in to find some small waves breaking. It was pretty mushy and mixed with chop, a short beach break. But hey, after this crappy flat winter anything looks good so we headed down the beach to the best break.

Craig has the Oxbow 11, a nice all around board. I had my Starboard 12-6 since I had thought we were going for a cruise. Ended up being the right board anyway…I was kind of wishing for my 11-2 but I would have struggled on it. The 12-6 makes even me look pretty stable in this kind of stuff.

The 1st 1/2 hour was kind of lame, good workout, but mushy, small, tough to catch and I thought it was only going to get worse with the incoming tide but all of a sudden we picked up a new swell, thigh to waist, longer period and coming more out of the NE. The 1st set of them came in and caught me by surprise. I turned to ask Craig where the hell those came from and he was 50 yards down the beach….obviously not caught by surprise….and moving fast…:)

The swell stayed with us the rest of the session. Still choppy and tough to read sometimes but finally some waves worth waiting for. You just never know until you go.

One of the best things about standup is the people I’ve met. I don’t know what the hell it is…I have yet to meet someone I didn’t like. Great to find someone to get on the water with so close to home.

Leave a Reply

Categories

