Posted by: newenglandsup | January 23, 2009

Race to the Rock Route

I paddled most of the route today. First day in awhile its been above freezing. If I actual get organized and turn this into a race I’ll get better route pics as I go but this is what I’ve got for now. Nice sunny day with a offshore 6 or 8 kt wind. Plenty of evidence of cold weather though…the tide was carrying a steady stream of ice in the currents at the mouth of the harbor.
Photobucket

It was pretty chunky!
Photobucket

The summer cottages were looking pretty quiet.
Photobucket

I stopped at the point for a couple of pics. Nobody else around. One lonely lobster boat had gone by in two hours.
Photobucket

Photobucket

When you turn the point you shoot straight for the the middle of the two single buoys (there is also a double red and green to the right of these). Your aiming for the far right of the breakwater on the opposite shore where there is a footbridge.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Once under the footbridge you’re in the harbor. Very empty at the moment.
Photobucket

A single trawler leaving the harbor.
Photobucket

Harbor Master…these guys paid me a visit today…more about that in a moment.
Photobucket

This pier usually has the Mayflower II, a Stern Paddlewheeler, 2 Capt John boats and a couple others. Today just one Capt. John.
Photobucket

Plymouth Rock in it’s portico. It may be dissapointing to some tourists and who knows if its even the right rock or not. What it represents is still pretty amazing though. Talk about a fresh start!
Photobucket

Next stop..1.5 miles across the bay, pretty much at the center of this pic.
Photobucket

I couldn’t go all the way to the beach where I plan on landing and crossing over to long beach. I still had almost a mile to go when I hit the ice. I followed the ice over until it was relatively close to shore in about 1 foot of water at the edge. I had to break through about 50 yards before it would hold me. Then I crossed another 100 yards before getting onto the snow.
Photobucket

Photobucket

I guess I must have stirred a few folks up. I didn’t even think about what it must have looked like from some of the houses in the bay. A lone person out on the edge of the ice. I had crossed over onto Plymouth beach and was making my way back when I heard a siren whoop and saw a guy waving on the shore. I realized right away what must have happened. The Harbor patrol officer was a nice guy. He said they had gotten quite a few calls about a man on the ice. He did take my information and informed me that in the cold weather they require a PFD for anyone on the water and asked that I call them 1st if I happen to go out again in these conditions. I told him what I was doing and we had a short pleasant conversation about the race. I told him I was glad to see him since I had to stop and discuss the race with him anyway and I went on my way. I’ll go in and see them next week some time.

I going to start doing this run as my usual workout.

Responses

  1. Great post Bob,
    Great picturers too! I took one look at (frozen solid) DUX Bay and zero waves and went for a X-country ski around the bogs instead. Looks like you had a good time. I’m away for the next 2 weeks except superbowl Sunday. Give a ring or text if you’re going out that day.

  2. Damn….I haven’t checked the email that wordpress notifies me about comments at since the 25th of Jan….sorry Craig. I probably would have gone out today but right now I’m dogsitting for my daughter. We’ll definitely get out there soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

