Posted by: newenglandsup | December 18, 2008

Mediocre Surf…but I got some pics of a stone cold fox!

I brought the wrong board today. The surf forecast was calling for chest high and the cam looked pretty good before I left but by the time I made it down to the Cape the waves had dropped to knee to waist. It was also kind of confused…tough to catch because it was breaking inconsistantly all over. I had the 11-2 with me. Wish I had brought the 12-6. You can catch smaller waves a little deeper with it and I haven’t been on it for awhile. I also could have just cruised the coast with the seals.

There was 3 or 4 different swells coming in and my head wasn’t cooperating today so I fell a lot which was very frustrating. Most of the swell was from the NE but I kept getting blindsided by one from the S every once in awhile. For some reason when I’m struggling like that it seems to help if I take a break.

Went in and cracked the thermos for some hot soup. Always a good idea to warm from within when its cold. After a 10 min break I went back out and sure enough things were much smoother. Caught some nice if short rides. Ended up surfing for 3 hours and decided to call it a day.

I’m glad I did. That’s when I got the pics.
Photobucket

Sorry for the subterfuge guys…I know you were probably expecting something very different. I was sitting in my truck just getting ready to go when he came walking out of the dunes.
Photobucket

He couldn’t have cared less that I was there. Even when I got out of my truck and followed him over the top of the dune. I got within 20 feet of him. He turned and looked at me but was too intent on the mouse he was about to catch to worry about me.
Photobucket

He killed the mouse, walked a short distance away and then chowed down. I watched him for about 10 mins and in that time saw him get 3 mice.

What a beautiful animal. Very surprised he’s so unafraid. I’ve only seen them at a distance before. This guy is obviously use to people.
Photobucket

Hope he keeps his belly full when we get all the snow tomorrow.

I’m planning to go out for a flatwater paddle in the snow in Plymouth Harbor tomorrow. We’ll see how bad the storm gets.

Leave a Reply

Categories

